Sigma Tau Gamma Fraternity Christopher J. Mauer Man-Mile Award

The Man-Mile award has been given for at least 40 years, but it has never been named. On June 9, 2008, the Fraternity Board of Directors voted to name it in honor of Past President Chris Mauer. The award recipient is determined by multiplying the number of undergraduate members registered and participating in a national meeting with the number of miles from the chapter's campus to the meeting location.

This posthumous honor remains especially appropriate for Brother Mauer because getting the most brothers to the meetings was in essence a part-time job for him. In the months before national meetings, he run around in full force to contact and visit as many chapters as possible before the meeting. During those visits and phone calls he would



convince many members to go that have never attended before just for the "Brotherhood Experience". He lived for these meetings and loved to teach others about his experience in the Sigma Tau Gamma brotherhood.

Roster of Christopher J. Mauer Man-Mile Award Recipients by Year:

2014

Epsilon Sigma, Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville

2013

Epsilon Rho, Salisbury University

2012

Beta Zeta, University of Central Oklahoma

2011

Delta Alpha, East Carolina University

2010

Beta, Truman State University

2009

Beta Kappa, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

2008

Beta Kappa, University of Wisconsin- La Crosse Epsilon Delta, University of Massachusetts-Lowell